UEMS Phlebology

The «Union Européenne des Médecins Spécialistes» (UEMS) has adopted on the 21st of October 2017 the European Training Requirements (ETR)[1] presented by Jean-Jérôme Guex M.D. on behalf of the European Board of Phlebology (EBPh)[2]. This is the result of an inter-specialty and fully European cooperation:

– 10th of April 2015 in Bruxelles, Domus Medica Europaea

Appointment of the National Delegates by the National Medical Associations members of the UEMS and Kick-off meeting of the Multidisciplinary Joint Committee in Phlebology at the initiative of several UEMS Specialist Sections: Vascular surgery, Vascular Medicine, Dermatology, Radiology, General Surgery; election of the Board (President JJ Guex, SFP, France; General Secretary F Mariani, CIF, Italy).

– 22nd October 2016 in Bruxelles, Domus Medica Europaea

Creation of the European Board of Phlebology (EBPh)2 by the UEMS General Council.

– 17th of March 2017 in Paris, Société Française de Phlébologie headquarters

Election of the EBPh Board: President JJ Guex (France), General Secretary F Mariani (Italy), VicePresident O Maleti (Italy), Treasurer CH Desnos (France).

– 20th of October 2017 in Bruxelles, Domus Medica Europaea

Presentation of the «ETR in Phlebology» to the UEMS Advisory Board; approval by the Advisory Board.

– 21st of October 2017 (Bruxelles, Domus Medica Europaea)

Presentation of the «ETR in Phlebology» to the UEMS General Council; adopted with 22 votes in favor, 2 opposed, 5 abstentions.

[1] Rules governing Phlebology training at European level and setting standards for both training centers and trainers, as well as for certification of student / trainee skills.

[2] Emanation of the Multisciplinary Joint Committee on Phlebology (MJCPh).

President Jean-Jérôme Guex, General Secretary Fabrizio Mariani, Vice-President Oscar Maleti, Treasurer Claudine Hamel-Desnos. The EBPh is the UEMS official Board for the certification in Phlebology.

12 May 2019